Carrot Cake Cupcakes

By: Jen Angel

May 10 2011

Tags: , , ,

Category: Cupcakes, Weddings

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/60 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

Despite my mom declaring this to be her most favorite recipe ever, it’s been quite some time since I’ve made carrot cake cupcakes. I made these for a wedding tasting (today), but made extra to have with dinner.

I love people who have non-traditional flavors for their wedding. Cream cheese frosting (used on carrot cake as well as red velvet and some other flaovrs) can be a challenge – it doesn’t take color as well (plus some colors look weird with the orange/brown of the carrot cake), and it also will not hold up as well in warm conditions and can’t be shaped into some of the more fancy designs. But they *DO* look great with the classic rose swirl (shown here), or could be awesome with a candied ginger or orange peel garnish – like the ones from Saturday. Though I think that walnuts are a natural accompaniment for carrot cake, for weddings, I recommend at least some of the cupcakes  without nuts to make sure your guests with allergies can enjoy dessert, too.

If you’re getting married and want more information on ordering cupcakes for your wedding, I have a whole page for that. And what else is going on? I’m THRILLED that there are strawberries out in full force at the farmer’s markets now. Maybe it’s time for me to perfect that strawberry-balsamic recipe I’ve been working on.

Leave a Reply

