Vanilla & Red Velvet


This morning was a delivery of six dozen cupcakes – vanilla, red velvet, double chocolate, and lemon. Pictured above are the red velvet and lemon, and an alternate view is here. On the horizon are chocolate, lemon, and chocolate orange, and there will be baby shower cupcakes and princess-themed cupcakes for a girl’s third birthday. Yes, there will be a lot of pink in my future!

I’m currently obsessed with milk glass, and I’m considering investing in a few pedestal cake stand pieces to display my cupcakes and cakes, or maybe I’ll just go with porcelain which is more available (and less expensive). I mean, I don’t really collect anything. I used to have a beautiful set of depression era green drinking glasses (I think they were from Hazel Atlas) that I had collected from thrift stores in the Midwest – until I dropped a box containing most of them on a cement floor. Let’s just say, only a couple of pieces made it.   My dad used to be a coffee mug collector and I have two milk glass mugs from his collection (one is a Dunkin Donuts mug from the ’60s, which is currently selling for around $25. Who knew, $25 for a mug?). I also have a have dark green glass fruit bowl from my great grandmother. I guess, it shouldn’t be a surprise that the things I’m interested in collecting are all kitchen related.

Anyway, I’m sure you’ll see any future cake stand purchase showing up in photos eventually! As always, you can find more photos on my Flickr page.

2 comments on “Vanilla & Red Velvet”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jen Angel and Jen Angel, Jen Angel. Jen Angel said: Today I made cupcakes for someone who works at @clorox: http://ht.ly/3PMXG – Apparently they have a huge office in Oakland. Who knew? […]

  2. […] EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA I know. I totally decorated the last batch of red velvet cupcakes in almost exactly the same way, but there is just something about heart decorations on red velvet […]


Leave a Reply

