120 Flowers

By: Jen Angel

Jun 19 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Cupcakes, Vegan, Weddings

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:113
Shutter:1/32 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

As promised, wedding cupcakes. You know, they are all the rage these days, and when Jenny and Ken contacted me about their wedding and wanting to keep costs down, I knew that cupcakes were for them. I mean, there’s no plates, or forks, or serving, or anything like that. They also ordered a 6-inch “cutting” cake so you can have the ceremonial cut if you like. 120 perfect little flower cupcakes. I love seeing them in the box all together. You can see a close up here, but I have to say the color in real life was really more purple than blue.

There’s a lot of discussion among cupcake-makers about how many cupcakes to order for parties, and there are a lot of variables. Are you serving the cupcakes or letting people take their own? Are you having more than one flavor? Are you having other desserts? Are they full size or mini cupcakes? How much do your people like their desserts? My advice? Always have more than you think you’ll need — you can always give some away.

More photos on Flickr or in the Archive. So, like I said, I’ll be traveling the next few weeks so there won’t be many posts, but I am excited about summer pie season (peaches! strawberries!), and there will be those 500 mini-cupcakes I said I would make for a party in July – so more soon!

4 comments on “120 Flowers”

  1. I love the color of these cupcakes. They are so pretty.

  2. What perfect little creations! These cakes are beautiful, and they so befit the occasion.

    Thanks so much for sharing,

    H 🙂

  3. […] Anyway, these are lemon buttermilk, for Kristin from Constance. Making a dozen of one flavor and decorating them several ways, with three or four different but similar designs. It lets me be creative and I like the way it looks. Of course there is something to be said for seeing a mass of one color or one design. […]


Leave a Reply

