Coconut & Chocolate

By: Jen Angel

Apr 25 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Cupcakes

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/91 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, I’ll admit, I used to not like coconut, but really I’ve been converted. Maybe it was the Macaroons of a few weeks ago, but I think I am now willing to accept coconut – especially mixed with chocolate. Which is kind of a problem, because as I’m sure I’ve said before, I often make flavor of cupcakes that I don’t personally enjoy (like, say, mint), so that I won’t eat them all myself. Or eat all the batter before it is baked. So really, it’s a self preservation thing, and as my palate changes and I like more things – well, that could be dangerous.

Now, I have not made this flavor in a long time and this time I made them a bit differently. These are chocolate and coconut cake with vanilla frosting, with four kinds of coconut included: coconut milk, coconut extract (which you buy in the baking section or a specialty store), sweetened shredded coconut in the cake batter, and toasted unsweetened coconut for the topping. And, I know my cupcakes always look nice, but that’s because there are no photos of the unfortunate coconut-burning incident during the first attempted toasting earlier in the day.

These were for a dinner for the activist group Rising Tide North America, who are having their national meeting here in the SF Bay Area this weekend. Here’s a short excerpt from their principles:

Rising Tide North America (RTNA) is a decentralized network of groups and individuals organizing against the root causes of climate change.

We are committed to Earth-centered, community-based solutions to the climate crisis that foster local autonomy and self-sufficiency. We are part of the global movement against climate chaos and for social and environmental justice. We believe climate change can only be addressed by exposing the intersections between the oppressions of humans and the earth. The “natural” disasters caused by climate change amplify the injustices inherent in a capitalist, racist, and patriarchal society; we must respond to these disasters in ways that do not continue that oppression.

We do not believe that the dominant, business-friendly means of addressing climate change will have any significant impact preventing catastrophic global warming. Market-based “solutions” like carbon offset schemes – whereby corporations are allowed to profit from their “sale” of greenhouse gas pollution – create social and ecological problems of their own, and serve to reinforce the same unsustainable system that got us into this mess. Power hungry politicians, communities disconnected from each other and the planet, and an economics based on money making and careless consumption are fundamentally at odds with the concept of environmental sustainability.

Cool, huh? Also, here’s their recent statement on big green groups accepting money from corporate polluters.

Lots of photos in the archives or on Flickr.

One comment on “Coconut & Chocolate”

  1. i’ve never heard of cocunut and chocolate cupcakes before, but they do sound delicious. if you are into cupcakes, i would love it if you would check out my post on cupcakes at http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com , and tell me what you think!
    thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

