My New Favorite Cupcake Design

By: Jen Angel

Mar 24 2010

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Cupcakes

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/174 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, I know I say it a lot but these are my new favorite design! There is an alternate view here. I made these cuties for two different baby showers today. I thought a spring theme would be fitting, since the sun has been out for the last week here in the San Francisco Bay Area and everyone is loving it – my house even had a garden work day last weekend. I know it’s a bit early to plant a lot of things, but when the sun is out, how can you resist?

These are simple chocolate cupcakes with buttercream frosting. The strawberry cupcakes from the weekend were *really* popular, but I have to say it again, chocolate cake with buttercream frosting is my absolute favorite flavor combination. Especially on day two, when the frosting has had a minute to set. Yum! I just think these are so cute and fun, and I *love* the goldish-yellowish color of the roses.

I know the “grass” cupcakes look like they took a lot of time to make – I mean, really, if i had to make each individual blade of grass then they would have taken forever. In reality they are super easy if you have the right tools. In this case, you can buy a decorator tip from a company like Wilton that allows you to make like 10 blades of grass at once (it’s Wilton #233 – which, by the way, you could also use to create fur or hair if you were doing an animal design) and I use another one for roses. They are inexpensive and though you *could* buy them online, it makes more sense to go to your local cake or craft store. It’s just like any other job – it’s a lot easier if you have the right tools. So, if you really wanted, you could make fancy cupcakes yourself at home. Yes, I know I’m giving away all of my secrets, but I’m actually happy to help – you know, more cupcakes in the world is always a good thing.

And on baby showers – a few years ago I went to a baby shower with my friend David. During the party everyone was asked to say a little, to give a wish or blessing to the couple and their baby. When it was David’s turn, he talked about how having a baby is one of the most hopeful things that you can do, that choosing to bring another person into this world means that you have hope for the future and that things will get better. That made me very happy.

And finally – here’s M’s Yelp review for these cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

