Pink Rose-flavored Cupcakes for DeAnna

By: Jen Angel

Nov 15 2009

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Cupcakes, Vegan

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/235 sec
Camera:KODAK EASYSHARE C763 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

My friend DeAnna has a massage studio in North Oakland, and she requested rose or lavender flavored vegan cupcakes for a class she was hosting at the studio. Since fresh lavender flowers are not in season, I opted for rose, flavoring the cupcakes with rose water (it’s important to make sure the rose water you use is actually made from roses!). I decided on a delicate pink, in a flower design, and am quite happy with the way they turned out.

The flavor, on the other hand, was quite interesting. If you like rose flavor you would have loved them, but I’ve always found rose (and lavender!) flavors kinda strange. Once when my  mom was visiting we went to a gelateria that had rose gelato, and when we tasted it, my mom announced that it was like tasting a smell. I’m sure I’ve told that story before, but really, it is so true here.

DeAnna, by the way, is an amazing masseuse, and I have been to her a couple of times and will definitely be going back. The class she held, which I was not able to attend unfortunately, was on “body brushing” or “skin brushing,” which sounds interesting and easy – it helps exfoliate your skin and some people think that it helps with cellulite.

Leave a Reply

